Day 4 of Spider-Week 2014: Hanging in the Balance

Today, I’ll be discussing a story arc that has been constantly hinted at in the previews we’ve been given for The Amazing Spider-Man 2 movie. This story arc, in the comics, takes place between The Amazing Spider-Man #121-122. I have to say, before I start talking about this, that I hate that I know this. I’ve based my admiration on Spider-Man on everything but the comics, but I do know most of the essential story arcs…including this one. I’d rather not spoil anything by revealing the title of this arc, so I’m not going to, but those who want to (probably) spoil the movie for themselves can look up the comic book issues mentioned if they don’t know about it already. This story arc is essential due to its shock and emotional toll on its readers, and it’s likely to have the same effect in theaters if it is followed through with, hence why I say probably. In my opinion, I think it will be followed through with. Too many people would be disappointed, even myself. As much as I don’t want it to happen, it has to. The way it happens should be interesting, too in that the previews make it look like it’s going to happen differently than it does in the comics, but hey, that’s what movies do! That’s about all I have to say on the subject. I have a very general understanding of the arc, but just enough for me to know the essence of it.

Tomorrow, I’ll be discussing the movies, sort of reviewing each as well as the Raimi trilogy and Webb reboot collectively. In other news, The Amazing Spider-Man 2 video game was delivered to my house yesterday and I also edited together a new video, so check that out! Happy Hump Day everyone…only 2 more days!!!

-Mike

Leave a comment