Day 2 of Spider-Week 2014: Spider-Games

It is now Day 2 of Spider-Week and today I’ll be discussing Spider-Man in video games. This isn’t so much me ranking the games and explaining why I ranked them this way, but more of me ranking the games and describing my own vision for a video game and seeing what I look for in a Spider-Man game through that. Here’s my list of Top Spider-Man video games (that I have played):

  1. Spider-Man 2000
  2. Spider-Man 2
  3. Ultimate Spider-Man
  4. Spider-Man: Web of Shadows
  5. Spider-Man: The Movie
  6. Spider-Man 3
  7. Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions
  8. Spider-Man: Edge of Time

This list is tentative in anticipation of the newest Spider-Man game, The Amazing Spider-Man 2, which I will be receiving, playing, and blogging about this week, which is when I will alter my list.

However, I would like to discuss an idea for my own video game…let’s call it Marvel: Spider-Man:

The gameplay will just be free roam around the entirety of New York City, from the streets to the tops of buildings, with constant side missions for fighting crime and taking pictures for The Daily Bugle. The day and night cycle should be respective to the actual time of day on the console. The city will be the most expansive possible and will include essential locations of events in Spider-Man comics, such as the Goblin’s lair, the bell tower where Eddie Brock becomes Venom, etc. There is no set storyline or characters, but rather a list of missions to chose from that pertain to the comics, including essential events like The Night Gwen Stacy Died so that way, it isn’t derivative as all games are. Costumes will be unlocked and added to Spider-Man’s wardrobe once their story is completed in a mission. Something like this might elicit multiple discs, which won’t be an issue considering the graphics. The graphics and cinematics should be equivalent to a comic book, but still nice enough for consoles and people to appreciate them. The fighting system should be entirely free form and rapid so you get the feel of being Spider-Man and the upgrade system should be completely customizable. There is literally no end to this game, which is why it would have a high replay value.

If any of you noticed, I use qualities from the existing games and some of my own ideas in this general rambling, but it’s just something I’d like to see.

Tomorrow, I’ll be discussing the soundtracks for the Spider-Man movies, in terms favorites amongst songs and scores of each film. Have a nice rest of the day, everyone!

-Mike